Woodhall Spa
Woodhall Spa
Previous slide
Next slide

Woodhall Spa Report and Results 21-22 May 2019

The GSGB’s first meeting of the 2019 season was played at Woodhall Spa, home to the relatively modern Bracken layout and the world-famous Hotchkin course which is currently ranked 78th in the World.

The Hotchkin will always be linked to the society through Neil Hotchkin, designer and owner of the course and GSGB President between 1989-93.

Forty-three members enjoyed glorious weather over the two days of competition as they battled the notoriously well-bunkered Hotchkin layout. A three-year course renovation programme was recently completed by world-renowned golf course architect Tom Doak and his team. Thousands of trees were removed to help with heather regeneration and bunkers have been both refurbished and added to create a more open heathland feel and a much-improved golf course.

At Dinner, we were joined by the Woodhall Spa Captain, Mr David Hilton and the Ladies Vice-Captain Cynthia Treharne. GSGB Chairman, Giles Hinchcliffe, presented David with a £500 donation to be used to support the club’s junior section.

The Day 1 prizes were won by David Kerr with 33 points and Vanessa Adams with 28 points and the Day 2 winners were George Clark with 37 points and Christine Hinchcliffe with 30 points.

The aggregate handicap prizes were won by Alan Golbourn with 67 points and Kathryn Archibald with 63.

David Archibald had the honour of being crowned this year’s Men’s Scratch Cup winner fending off challenges from Alan Golbourn, Lorne Smith and last year’s winner Tim Russell. David adds his name to the Cup for the fifth time. Gillian Curley won the Ladies Scratch Cup by one shot over Pat Bennett with Kathryn Archibald a further two shots back.

Scroll left and right on the table below to see all details:

Trophy/Competition Winner Club Score
Scratch Cups David Archibald Alnmouth 61
Gillian Curley Northants County 43
Handicap Prizes Alan Golbourn Chelmsford 67
Kathryn Archibald Alnmouth 63
Day 1 Prizes David Kerr Northants County 33
Barry Luscombe Bath 33
Vanessa Adams The Warren 28
Pat Bennett Reading 27
Day 2 Prizes George Clark Effingham 37
Lorne Smith Sand Moor 34
Christine Hinchcliffe Sand Moor 30
Louise Andrews West Surrey 29

Course comments are taken with permission from the Top 100 Golf Courses website and the individual club websites.
All photos are either owned by GSGB or supplied by the relevant golf clubs and are shown with their permission.

Leave a Reply

Share This Page